HD transmission in the new DVB-T2 system in the M2 multiplex based on the HEVC standard of video signal coding began today in the entire territory of the Republic of Croatia, and all television programming will be transmitted in both the existing and new systems until the transition is complete in 2020. In this regard, the public will have sufficient time to adapt to the new system of television reception.

To recall, based on the decision made by the HAKOM (the Croatian network industry regulatory agency) on 18 October 2019, the beginning of the complete transition to the new transmission system was moved back to the period from 25 May to 1 July 2020, and OIV will subsequently notify the public of the detailed plan for the transition by digital regions, i.e., the plan for shutting down the DVB-T system. Transmission under the new system began from the Sljeme transmitter on 6 September of this year, while on 29 October a signal also began to be broadcast from Sveta Nedjelja and Zagreb/Prisavlje 3, thereby securing supplemental coverage of the city of Zagreb, i.e., the zone below Sljeme.

The transition to DVB-T2 television broadcasting brings crucial advantages in comparison to the preceding DVB-T. Namely, the new coding method, H.265/HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding), will improve image quality, so that instead of the previous SD (standard definition) resolution of 720 x 576, viewers will have the opportunity to watch television in Full HD (high definition) resolution of 1920 x 1080. Furthermore, the signal will be stronger, and it will cover more of the population at a higher quality (multiplex M1 over 99%), and also bring the quality of coverage by HRT Channels 3 and 4, as well as RTL 2 and Doma TV from the current multiplex B, into line with the coverage of the respective primary channels, HRT1, HRT2, RTL and Nova TV, because all of them will be in a single multiplex.

Multiplexes M1 and M2 will cover the Republic of Croatia, while multiplex L1 will have a local reach: the City of Zagreb; the municipalities of Velika Gorica, Sveta Nedelja, Stupnik, Jastrebarsko, Klinča Sela, Krašić, Pisarovina, Karlovac, Lasinja, Ozalj, Žakanje, Draganić, Netretić, Duga Resa, Generalski Stol, Barilovići, Krnjak, Bosiljevo; part of the Samobor Municipality; part of the Vojnić Municipality and the City of Šibenik. Given the demands imposed by the project to move to the DVB-T2 system, which includes installation of a high number of new devices with the corresponding structural facilities and electrical infrastructure and the time limits involved, the tempo and success of implementation will require a high degree of coordination among all participants in the process, meaning all organizational units within OIV.

Citizens will have to – if they already have not – obtain television receivers capable of receiving the DVB-T2/HEVC signal. They can purchase a set-top box and connect it to their existing television receiver, or purchase a new television set which has a DVB-T2 channel selector and an HEVC video decoder installed. Such receivers have already been on the market for several years and are increasingly well represented, but there are still some that are not (which are more often sold at a discount) so it is necessary to keep this fact in mind.

For any additional questions, citizens may call the toll-free number 0800 0897 or send queries to the e-mail address: problemi_prijam@oiv.hr